.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

High Definition Video for Independent Filmmakers
A How To Guide for Digital Filmmakers
Welcome all! This is my blog to share my latest research,
thoughts, etc. on utilizing HD for independent filmmaking.

YES, I am available for consulting
Contact me at mike@hdforindies.com

All content copyright 2004-2007 Mike Curtis.

Friday, October 28, 2005

Warning! Decoy site! 

www.defperception.com is a new blog about working with P2 card based DVCPRO HD media. It is covering a camera I am VERY much looking forward to, and I DO recommend folks SERIOUSLY contemplate buying the stuff they are talking about here, HOWEVER....this is a PR plant by Panasonic.

What really bugs me is that the are presenting this as a blog that some guy has put together, but in reality, it is a Panasonic marketing piece.

That really bugs me that they are faking a "real" blog with this blog, that ends with:

Copyright ©2005 Panasonic Corporation of North America. All rights reserved


Not that the guy writing it isn't a nice guy.

Not that the equipment he's writing about isn't really killer and cool.

Not that what he is saying is incorrect or false in any way.

Hell, I could see, in a not too different parallel life, that I would have felt thrilled to be asked to write something like this for a vendor.

But he's presenting himself as an objective observer with the blog, down to pictures from trips he's taken, but in fact this is a sponsored PR/marketing plant from Panasonic, that he's being paid by them to do this, but presenting it in an objective, not subjective, format.

As someone who strives to present truly independent, non-biased content, that bugs me. And offends me.

A LOT.

-mike
Comments:
I just took a look... the top of the page says "tosh bilowski focuses on high-def pro video - brought to you by Panasonic"

That seems pretty honest to me...
 
Trevor - YES that is absolutely true...BUT....who stops to look at those kinds of things? Technically, they have disclaimered themselves. (Also, is that a new/recent addition? I'm not sure that was always there). But the FORMAT of the whole thing comes across, frankly, as a lie to me. Well, hmm. That's overstating the case, but that's the sense of what I mean - in it's presentation and format, it is deceptive and implies a truth that isn't quite there.

This isn't a dig at the writer AT ALL, but at Panasonic for presenting information in this format, for trying to slide under the radar of our media filters with a buddy-buddy trust-me format instead of a corporate data sheet that we KNOW to read with a grain of salt. Want user testimonials on your site? FINE! Have them! But at least we know to read through those a bit.

-mike
 
mike,
normally i would agree with you, but how do you think he could offer any real world info otherwise?

besides, he specially states:
[QUOTE]
I feel Shakespearian today. People are questioning me. Who am I? Well, I’ve wondered that myself since my creation. Have I come up with the answer? Well, sort of…
In search of a more interesting flow of information for my fellow tech-savvy video nuts, I came to be. And my blog was born. Now, seems like my blog is getting some attention. Or maybe it’s called controversy. Either way, it’s dialogue and that’s what I’m about.
All the info you’ll read here about the HVX-200 is real. You probably won’t find this kind of info anywhere else. I have direct, (wink, wink) contact with Panasonic. They’re the behind-the-scenes backbone of my being.
Hey, I’m pro Panasonic, right up front. I won’t slam the competitors, but I’ll tell you the truth about what I know about the HVX200 and all things Panasonic.
If you'd rather read a data sheet, there you go. If you want a little more character –you came to the right place.
[END QUOTE]

i must say he's got a point there.
++ chris ++
 
I have to agree with the above. It says Panisonic right in the top banner. There is some good info on the site also. AND he's even pushing the Firestore! Isn't that a surprise?
 
I'm totally with Mike on this one. This stinks.
Yeah yeah I know it says pana and all that, but it's the TONE that is the problem. He is ape-ing the style of a personal blog to make a 'blogvert' containing exactly the info that Pana marketing want to convey.

It is incredibly patronising that on one hand they try to give the impression of an indie blog, but then they have the gall to more or less admit it's a total shill for Pana PR.

Nothing against using a blog as a PR tool.
LOTS against 'dressing it up' to pretend to be a 'personal journey' or some such crap.

If the back-story is fake too, then this REALLY sucks.

Dave
 
I think this quote hints to a non-existing person:

"I feel Shakespearian today. People are questioning me. Who am I? Well, I’ve wondered that myself since my creation. Have I come up with the answer? Well, sort of…
In search of a more interesting flow of information for my fellow tech-savvy video nuts, I came to be. And my blog was born. Now, seems like my blog is getting some attention. Or maybe it’s called controversy. Either way, it’s dialogue and that’s what I’m about."

I think this 'Tosh' guy does not exist. He is a Panasonic PR team or Advertising Agency. This way Panasonic can Hype something or throw a stone in the pool and see what happens. It is no journalism but PR. It's not straight. With every word you read you have to think to yourself: Why does Panasonic write this... what is behind this... I don't like that. Beware of this site !!

Martijn Schroevers
 
I don't think I would say WARNING or BEWARE of this site. I mean, it's all there on the banner and also with the info about the blogger Tosh that he did and does have a pipeline to Panasonic. I think it's more, TAKE WITH A GRAIN OF SALT when considering this info before you buy this camera because it's coming from a source that is biased towards the manufacturer. Yeah, of course you are going to get an insider's perspective of the product from a PANASONIC endorsed blog. Maybe the approach is a little slimey. At the same time I think all the tech freaks that log into blogs like that one are a little ahead of the curve when it comes to product skepticism. That's not going to be the only stop in search of relevant info. They are going to stop here too, probably first.
 
I just heartily don't approve of the deceptive format, and want to discourage other companies from following it.

-mike
 
I don't like it. He's not really adding any fresh and exciting news, he's just basically being pro-panny. If he had a scoop, or was really expounding on the fine-grained technicalities of the P2 format, I'd cut "Tosh" a little more slack...but he's not. Instead, he gives some random evasive answer to questions of "who are you".
C'mon, what kind of answer is "...I came to be. And my blog was born. Now, seems like my blog is getting some attention. Or maybe it’s called controversy. Either way, it’s dialogue and that’s what I’m about."
Gag me. That just screams "PR Dude Tryin' For Indie Street Cred" to me. Give me a break...
I too feel its patently dishonest and subversive. And what is the point? It's not like that camera and the P2 format are being ignored. Geez, that's like the biggest news of this year! There will be hell to pay if "Tosh" opens up the comments on the blog...
Speaking of which, wonder what the odds are of spotting "Tosh" on a stock image site? :-)

Tosh, schmosh.

Matthew Jeppsen
www.FresHDV.com
 
Hah! Hey Matthew - should we offer a bounty for Tosh's true identity, if he isn't a real person?

What do we give away if he is proven to be a stock image, or an actor, etc. instead of what he claims to be?

That evasive "I came to be" isn't "I was born in Iowa and got into video."

"I came to be" as you suggest, implies he is FUCKING FICTIONAL.

-mike, incensed.
 
Mike is right.
The addition of "brought to Panasonic" is a new one. Up until last week the only hint that this was a panasonic site was the copyright at the bottom of the page.

I think enough people complained about the questionable marketing, so they added 'brought to you by Panasonic' to the top of the page.
 
Now it clearly below the picture "Tosh Bilowski is a fictional character"

But "About Tosh" has a dad, an indian mom (Kavita Rashendran)

confusing!
 
Post a Comment


Links to this post:

Create a Link

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Listed on BlogShares